PPT felicitates Freedom Fighters

Paradip: Republic Day celebrations began on January 23 instead of January 24 this year to include Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s birth anniversary, in line with Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government’s?”aim to highlight important aspects of our history and culture”. Last year, the Union government announced that January 23 will be celebrated as ‘Parakram Diwas’ or day of valour. To commemorate the day, Paradip Port Trust (PPT) officials
led by P.L. Haranadh, Chairman, offered floral tributes at the statue of Netaji near Paradip Bus Stand. As part of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav programme, Shri Haranadh visited the homes of local freedom fighters in Jagatsinghpur namely Madhabananda Manohari of Nuapara villags, Bhagirathi Swain of Ichhapur village & Jogendra Maharana of Aanla village and felicitated them. During course of interaction, the freedom fighters described how they in their adolescent time particio in the freedom struggle and contributed in the nation building exercise, in the post independence era. Shri Haranadh, Chairman, PPT wished them healthy lives and urged the younger generations to be inspired from these living patriots. Among others, A.K. Bose, Dy. Chairman and Dr. P.N. Bahekar, Secretary, PPT were also present on the occasion. Similarly, like every year, Netaji Memorial Trust celebrated the 125th birth anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose at Netaji statue near the bus stand square in Paradip. On the occasion PPT Chairman P.L. Haranadh has joined as the chief guest and offered floral tributes at Netaji’s statue and hoisted the flag. At the end with keeping Covid protocols a memorial meeting on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose was held. Among others Lt.Cdr Akshay Chandra
Mishra, Pabitra Mohan Mishra, founder advisor of Netaji Memorial Trust, Rakesh Kumar Pattnaik, president, senior leader Dolagovinda Dash, Sabita Mohapatra, Bhabendra Dash, Rajendra Shukla and others were present and
participated in the program.

About Post Author