West Bengal to vote for 43 seats in sixth phase of assembly polls on Thursday

Kolkata : Amidst unprecedented security arrangements, 43 of the state’s 294 assembly seats will go to polls in the sixth phase of elections on Thursday.

In the sixth phase of polling in West Bengal, elections will be held in 4 districts and 43 assembly seats. The districts include North 24 Pargana Part II, Nadia Part II, East Bardhaman Part II and Uttar Dinajpur on April 22.

The forty-three Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal going to polls in the sixth phase are: 1. Chopra 2. Islampur 3. Goalpokhar 4. Chakulia 5. Karandighi 6. Hemtabad (SC) 7. Kaliaganj (SC) 8. Raiganj 9. Itahar 10. Karimpur 11. Tehatta 12. Palashipara 13. Kaliganj 14. Nakashipara 15. Chapra 16. Krishnanagar Uttar 17. Nabadwip 18. Krishnanagar Dakshin 19. Bagda (SC) 20. Bangaon Uttar (SC) 21. Bangaon Dakshin (SC) 22. Gaighata (SC) 23. Swarupnagar (SC) 24. Baduria 25. Habra 26. Ashoknagar 27. Amdanga 28. Bijpur 29. Naihati 30. Bhatpara 31. Jagatdal 32. Noapara 33. Barrackpur 34. Khardaha 35. Dum Dum Uttar 36. Bhatar 37. Purbasthali Dakshin 38. Purbasthali Uttar 39. Katwa 40. Ketugram 41. Mangalkot 42. Ausgram (SC) 43. Galsi (SC).

During the Sixth Phase, total 306 candidates including 27 women will be vying for the 43 Assembly seats spread over four districts of West Bengal going to polls in this phase.

Over 1.03 crore voters including 50.65 lakh women and 256 Third Gender persons will decide the fate of these candidates. Total 14,480 Polling Stations have been set up for this purpose.

Ruling TMC and Bharatiya Janata Party are contesting for all the 43 seats. Congress, Left parties and their alliance partner Indian Secular Front are fighting under the banner of Sanyukta Morcha.

BSP has fielded 37 candidates, CPI (M) has 23, Congress – 12, AIFB – four and CPI two while there are 82 independents along with 60 others are also in the fray.

The prominent candidates participating in this phase include State Ministers and TMC candidates Ujjal Biswas from Krishnanagar Dakshin, Swapan Debnath from Purbasthali Dakshin and Chandrima Bhattacharya along with CPI (M) leader Tanmoy Bhattacharya from Dumdum Uttar while BJP National Vice President Mukul Roy is contesting from Krishnanagar Uttar and Senior Congress leaders Mohit Sengupta from Raiganj and Abdus Sattar is also in the fray from Baduria.

Former TMC Minister Abdul Karim Chowdhary has entered the electoral battle from Islampur, Pundrikaksha Saha from Nabdweep and CPI leader Srikumar Mukherjee from Itahar while TMC leader Jyotipriya Mallick and BJP leader Rahul Sinha are also trying their luck from Habra.

The political fate of film director Raj Chakraborty and actress Koushani Mukherjee, who were fielded by the Trinamool Congress, will also be sealed in this phase of the election.

The Election Commission (EC) has made elaborate security arrangements with the deployment of central and state forces to ensure a free fair and peaceful poll.

The EC has decided to deploy 1,071 companies of central security forces in the sixth phase to ensure free and fair polling.

About Post Author