Odisha reports 3087 nCov cases,45 deaths in past 24 hours

Bhubaneswar : Odisha reported 3087 new Covid cases from all the 30 districts in the past 24 hours taking the total tally in the state to 9,12,887.

During the period, 45 Covid patients succumbed to the virus from 16 districts pushing the total Covid fatalities to 4063.
The total recoveries in the state rose to 8,77,540 as 3233 more people recovered from the infection on Wednesday. The active cases now stand at 31,231.

Health and family Welfare department sources said in the past 24 hours 1775 new cases were reported from the quarantine centres and 1312 as local contact cases.

Khordha district registered the highest number of 584 cases followed by Cuttack (462), Balasore (246)and Jajpur (205).The rest 26 districts in the state reported less than 200 cases.

Of the 45 fresh deaths reported from the state in the past 24 hours, a maximum nine reported from Khordha district followed by five each in Mayurbhanj and Puri district, four each from Kendrapara and Ganjam and three each in Bargarh and Sundargarh district.

Sources said during the last sixty days (from May to June 30) the state reported 4,58,280 Covid positive cases and 2,746 deaths. During the last two months as many as 4,91,290 have been cured from coronavirus.

Meanwhile, the Odisha government, keeping the prevailing Covid situation in the state, extended the partial lockdown from today till July 16.

All the 30 districts in the state have been divided into category A with 20 districts having less than 5 per cent Test Positivity Rate(TPR) and the rest 10 districts as category B having more than 5 per cent TPR.

Accordingly more relaxations were given in A category districts where the weekend shut down was lifted and shops were allowed to open from 6 AM to 6PM.Inter districts Public transport services were also allowed.

In category B districts, the weekend shut down would continue while the shops were allowed from 0600 hrs 1400 hrs.
The government, however, decided to continue the night curfew from 1800 hrs 0600 hrs in the entire state.

Official sources said three districts such as Khordha, Cuttack and Balasore have reported over 3000 active cases and declared as Red Zone.

While six districts- Nayagarh, Puri, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Bhadrak and Mayurbhanj have been declared as Orange zone and rest 21 districts are declared as Green Zone.

Meanwhile, three districts- Nayagarh, Balasore and Mayurbhanj have reported TPR more than 7.5 per cent while eight other districts have shown TPR between 5 to 7.5 per cent.

The rest 19 districts have TPR less than 5 percent of whom as many as 12 districts have TPR less than 2 per cent.

Jharsuguda and Balangir districts, both in Western Odisha ,have reported lowest TPR of 0.6 per cent only while Nayagarh district has the highest TPR of 8.5 per cent in the state.

About Post Author