Ahead of monsoon session, govt holds all-party meet

New Delhi : The government on Sunday held an all-party meeting with the floor leaders of various parties to discuss the monsoon session of Parliament which will begin from July 19, Monday.

The meeting was chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. From the treasury benches, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi, Union Minister and Leader of House in Rajya Sabha Piyush Goyal and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh were present.

From the opposition, Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, floor leaders of All India Trinamool Congress Derek O’ Brien, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s Tiruchi Siva, Bahujan Samaj Party’s Satish Mishra and Samajwadi Party’s Ram Gopal Yadav, among others, attended the meeting.

As per sources, the government sought the support of the opposition in the smooth running of both the Houses.

It is the convention that before the beginning of the session, the government calls the all-party meeting.

Meanwhile, the House will see the new Cabinet of the Prime Minister. Over three dozen new faces were inducted into the Cabinet earlier this month in a massive rejig by Mr Modi.

Mr Modi, as per the convention, will introduce his new Cabinet to the members of the House on the first day of the session.

Also, those who became the members of the Lok Sabha by winning bypolls that were held along with Assembly polls to four States in April this year, will take the oath on Monday.

About Post Author