WTC Final, Day 2: NZ win toss, opt to bowl first against India

Southampton : New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to bowl first against India on Day 2 of the World Test Championship final at the Ageas Bowl, here on Saturday.

New Zealand picked four specialist fast bowlers and another seam-bowling option in all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme. They didn’t pick any spinner considering the overcast conditions.

On the other hand, India stuck to their playing XI which was announced on Thursday.

The first day was washed out due to rain and bad weather.

Playing XI:

India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling(w), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

About Post Author