Opposition leaders join Kisan Sansad at Jantar Mantar

New Delhi : Opposition leaders from 14 political parties on Friday attended a “mock parliament” being run by farmer groups agitating against the new farm laws.

The “Kisan Sansad”, or “farmers’ parliament” has been running at Jantar Mantar since July 22.

Former Congress president Rahul Gandhi, Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, along with leaders of 13 other parties, attended the protest.

Leaders from DMK, Trinamool Congress, NCP, Shiv Sena, RJD, Samajwadi Party, CPI-M, AAP, CPI, IUML, RSP, NC and LJD were present.

The Opposition MPs arrived at Jantar Mantar, where the protest is being held, in two buses, a little after 1 p.m.

It was announced that the Opposition leaders will sit in a designated ‘visitors’ gallery’, and did not speak from the dais.

On Friday, the farmer’s parliament discussed a ‘no-confidence motion’.

The farmer groups have been sitting at the borders of Delhi since November 26, 2020 to protest against the new farm laws.

On Friday morning, the Opposition leaders also held a strategy meet, as stalemate in Parliament continues.

The Opposition parties have been united in demanding a debate on the Pegasus snooping controversy, farm laws and ongoing farmer’s protests.

About Post Author