Bengal going to fourth phase Assy poll tomorrow

Kolkata, Apr 9 (UNI) A poll eve lull is pervading in West Bengal as the state is going to the fourth of the eight-phase Assembly election tomorrow for 44 of 294 seats to decide the fate of 373 candidates under a massive security blanket.

In the fourth phase of polling, elections will be held in 5 districts and 44 assembly seats. The districts include Howrah Part II, South 24 Parganas Part III and Hooghly Part II, Alipurduar and Cooch Behar on April 10.

The forty four Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal going to polls in fourth phase are: 1. Mekliganj (SC) 2. Mathabhanga (SC) 3. Coochbehar Uttar (SC) 4. Coochbehar Dakshin 5. Sitalkuchi (SC) 6. Sitai (SC) 7. Dinhata 8. Natabari 9. Tufanganj 10. Kumargram (ST) 11. Kalchini (ST) 12. Alipurduars 13. Falakata (SC) 14. Madarihat (ST) 15. Sonarpur Dakshin 16. Bhangar 17. Kasba 18. Jadavpur 19. Sonarpur Uttar 20. Tollyganj 21. Behala Purba 22. Behala Paschim 23. Maheshtala 24. Budge Budge 25. Metiaburuz 26. Bally 27. Howrah Uttar 28. Howrah Madhya 29. Shibpur 30. Howrah Dakshin31. Sankrail (SC) Panchla 33. Uluberia Purba 34. Domjur 35. Uttarpara 36. Sreerampur 37. Champdani 38. Singur 39. Chandannagar 40. Chunchura 41. Balagarh (SC) 42. Pandua 43. Saptagram 44. Chanditala.

The fate of 373 candidates in which 50 (13%) are female candidates will be decided in the fourth phase by 1,15,81,022 voters including 58,82,514 are males, 56,98,218 females and 290 third gender who will exercise their franchise in 15,940 polling booths spread across the 44 constituencies, the Election Commission sources said.

Women voters will become the deciding factor in West Bengals South 24 Parganas district during the states fourth phase Assembly elections for 44 constituencies.

Cumulatively the number of female voters in the district`s 11 constituencies are more than their male counterparts. In six of them, Sonarpur Dakshin, Sonarpur Uttar, Jadavpur, Tollygunj, Behala Uttar, Behala Dakshin, women have an edge over their male counterparts.

The total number of female voters in these 11 constituencies are 15,70,392, while the number of the male voters is 15,66,161.

About Post Author