IPL 2021: Padikkal, Kohli power RCB to 10 wickets win over RR

Mumbai : Riding on Devdutt Padikkal’s 101* and Virat Kohli 72*, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) thrashed Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 10 wickets, registering their fourth consecutive win in an Indian Premier League match, here at the Wankhede Stadium on Thursday.

Earlier, RCB won the toss and decided to ball first.

RR got off to a bad start as they lost their three wickets for 18 runs. Then, captain Sanju Samson hit 2 fours and one six during his 21 runs knock off 18 balls. He was removed by spinner Washington Sundar. All-rounder Shivam Dube (46 off 32 balls) and Riyan Parag (25 off 15 balls) added 66 runs for the fifth wicket.

Rahul Tewati, who came at No seven, scored crucial 40 off 23 balls, helping RR get past 175-run mark. He was caught by Shahbaz Ahmed off Mohammed Siraj in the 19th over.

In the final over, Chris Morris (10) and Chetan Sakariya (0) were sent back by Harshal Patel in two consecutive balls. Shreyas Gopal (7) and Mustafizur Rahman (0) remained not out. For RCB, Siraj and Patel took three wickets each in four overs.

In reply, Padikkal and Kohli put up an unbeaten 181-run opening stand to help RCB post 10 wickets win over RR in just 16.3 overs. During his unbeaten 72 runs knock, Kohli became the first player in IPL to score 6000 runs. With the virtue of this win, RCB reclaimed the top spot in the points table.

About Post Author