Delhi MCD by-election results: AAP bags 4 wards, Congress wins Chauhan Bangar

New Delhi: Continuing its impressive show, Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP on Wednesday bagged four out of five wards in Delhi MCD by-election counting for which was held today. The BJP, which had held one of these wards, failed to open its account in the MCD bypolls.

Congratulating the AAP worker for the landslide victory in the MCD by-election, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said, ”I congratulate the Delhi voters for preferring good work over petty politics. The outcome of the MCD byelection results shows that people are completely fed up with the 15 years of BJP’s misrule in the MCD. People are now desperate to form the Aam Aadmi Party government in the MCD as well.”

Delhi Deputy CM Manish Sisodia too said, “The people of Delhi have expressed their confidence in us. They are fed up with BJP and this election is an indication of that. In the 2022 Delhi municipal polls, BJP will be wiped out.’’

A tweet from the party said, “Big win for AAP in MCD by-polls! AAP wins 4 out of 5 Seats. BJP reduced to Zero. Delhi has decided to throw BJP out of MCD in 2022.’’

Celebrations began at the AAP party offices in the national capital soon after it emerged that the party has won four out of the five wards in the Delhi MCD by-election

More than 50 per cent voters cast their votes in the municipal corporation bypolls in the five wards on Sunday. Congress candidate Chaudhary Zubair Ahmad defeated AAP candidate Mohammad Ishraq Khan by 10,642 votes in Chauhan Bangar ward. The AAP candidates won from Kalyanpuri, Rohin-C, Trilokpuri and Shalimar Bagh North wards. 

AAP candidate Dhirender Kumar won the Kalyanpuri ward by 7,043 votes. AAP’s Vijay Kumar defeated BJP’s Om Prakash by a margin of 4,986 votes in Trilokpuri.

AAP’s Sunita Mishra defeated Surbhi Jaju of the BJP in Shalimar Bagh ward by 2,705 votes. The seat was earlier held by the BJP. Ram Chander of the AAP defeated BJP candidate Rakesh Goyal by 2,985 votes in Rohini C ward.

The BJP had retained all three municipal corporations in Delhi in the 2017 civic polls with the AAP finishing a distant second. 

More than 50 per cent votes were cast in the bypolls for the five municipal wards held on February 28. Out of the five wards, four were held by the AAP while Shalimar Bagh North had a BJP councillor.

Source: Zeenews

About Post Author